Which Countries Can I Travel To On A Schengen Visa

2 min read

The Schengen Area, an agreement signed in 1985 and implemented in 1995, is a group of 26 European countries that have abolished internal border controls, allowing seamless travel within the region. 

The Schengen visa is a key facilitator of this system, permitting its holders to visit and move freely among the member states for a limited period along with flight itinerary for visa. In this essay, we will explore the countries that form the Schengen Area and discuss the scope of travel on a Schengen visa.

As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the Schengen Area includes 26 European countries. These countries are:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland

The Schengen visa is primarily a short-term visa that allows its holder to travel and stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days within 180 days. This means that with a Schengen visa, you can visit any of the 26 member countries mentioned above without needing separate visas for each country.

It is essential to note that the 90-day limit applies to the entire Schengen Area, not each country. This means that once you have used up your 90 days within the Schengen zone, you must wait 180 days before re-entering the region on a new Schengen visa.

While the Schengen Area covers a significant part of Europe, several European countries are not part of this agreement. Some notable examples include:

  1. United Kingdom

    The UK, comprising England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, is not part of the Schengen Area. Travellers need a separate UK visa if they wish to visit these countries.
  1. Republic of Ireland

    Ireland is also not part of the Schengen Area, and travellers must obtain an Irish visa to visit Ireland.
  1. Croatia, Cyprus, Bulgaria, and Romania

    Although these countries are European Union (EU) members, they are not part of the Schengen Area. Separate visas or permits may be required for visiting these nations.

The Schengen visa is a valuable tool for travellers wishing to explore multiple European countries without the hassle of obtaining individual visas. With one Schengen visa, you can travel to any 26 member countries in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days within 180 days. 

However, it is essential to be aware of the specific visa regulations and limitations of each country, as well as the countries that are not part of the Schengen Agreement. 
Before planning your trip, always check the most up-to-date visa document requirements and submit documents such as travel insurance for Schengen visa to ensure a smooth and enjoyable travel experience within Europe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *